John Deere Classic Contestants Invade England’s Royal Lytham & St. Annes

A total of 25 John Deere Classic contestants are playing in the British Open this week, including 2012 champion Zach Johnson and 2009-11 champion Steve Stricker. 

Twenty-three of the 25 flew on the John Deere Classic charter Sunday night non-stop to Manchester, England from Quad City International Airport in Moline, Ill. Troy Matteson and Stewart Cink were the two players who flew separately.

The 2012 John Deere Classic contestants competing at Royal Lytham & St. Annes this week are: Sang Moon Bae, Jonathan Byrd, Chad Campbell, K.J. Choi, Daniel Chopra,  Cink, Tim Clark, John Daly, James Driscoll, David Duval, Todd Hamilton, Charles Howell III, Zach Johnson, Troy Kelly, Matteson, Garth Mulroy, Carl Petterson, Ted Potter, Chez Reavie, John Senden, Kyle Stanley, Steve Stricker, Nick Watney, Mark Wilson, and Y.E. Yang.

Fifteen of those players made the cut at the Deere: Johnson (winner), Matteson (lost in sudden death playoff), Senden (4th), Stricker (T-5), Watney (T-13), Choi (T-13), Stanley (T-19), Petterson (T-36), Campbell (T-36), Clark (T-36), M. Wilson (T-46), Yang (T-45), Byrd (T-54), Potter (T-66), Reavie (T-68).

British Open contestants who missed the cut at the Deere were: Chopra, Daly,  Duval, Howell, T. Kelly, Driscoll, Mulroy, Bae, Cink, and Hamilton.

Duval won the Claret Jug back in 2001 and this is his first time back to Royal Lytham.

Good luck to them all!
Stay up-to-date on all Birdies information via email