SILVIS, Illinois
PGA TOUR superstars like Zach Johnson, Matt Kuchar and Webb Simpson were once aspiring golfers just looking for a chance to prove they had the talent to play with the best in the world. The John Deere Classic gave those players, and many others, a chance to become household names.

The John Deere Classic takes great pride in giving the best young players in the game a chance to compete against some of the best golfers in the world on the PGA TOUR. The 2014 edition of sponsor exemptions is no different, with rising stars like Patrick Rodgers, 21; Cameron Wilson, 21; Jordan Niebrugge, 20, and Steven Ihm, 22, receiving a spot in the field through sponsor exemptions.

"The John Deere Classic has a proud history of giving elite young players an opportunity to test their games against the highest level of competition," John Deere Classic Tournament Director Clair Peterson said. "By doing so, the tournament gives its loyal fans a glimpse of the PGA TOUR's future stars."

The list below is a small sampling of players that competed in the John Deere Classic on sponsor exemptions. Those players have a combined 18 major championships, 131 PGA TOUR wins, and have compiled approximately $310.9 million in career earnings.

Justin Leonard (1994)
Tiger Woods (1996)
Matt Kuchar (2001)
Lucas Glover (2002)
Zach Johnson (2002)
Bill Haas (2004)
Camillo Villegas (2004)
Billy Hurley III (2006)
Jason Day (2006)
Webb Simpson (2008)
Jordan Spieth (2012)
Patrick Reed (2013)

Stay up-to-date on all Birdies information via email